TRIO EOC brochure cover

Educational Opportunity Centers (EOC) is a federally funded TRIO program administered by the University of Kansas that serves low-income and potential first-generation college students who need assistance completing admission applications and applying for financial aid and scholarships for a postsecondary educational program (i.e., vocational, technical, community college, or university).

Mission Statement

The Center for Educational Opportunity Programs (CEOP) supports a wide spectrum of learners by providing educational information, counseling, academic instruction, tutoring, and assistance in applying for financial aid. CEOP also provides supportive encouragement to both students and their families. Whereas student financial aid programs help students overcome financial barriers to higher education, CEOP projects help students overcome academic, economic, social, and cultural barriers to higher education. Our programs serve students at the University of Kansas and youth, adults, and veterans in the Lawrence, Topeka, and Kansas City areas. 

About TRIO

In 1964, the original three TRIO programs were started. The program has expanded to eight programs and continues to be called TRIO.

The Federal TRIO Programs are outreach and student services programs designed to identify and provide services for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. TRIO includes eight programs targeted to serve low-income individuals, first-generation college students, and individuals with disabilities. These programs assist participants in passing through the academic pipeline, from middle school to postbaccalaureate programs.

Visit the CEOP website or one of these program sites to learn more about the TRIO programs administered by the University of Kansas.